Room Moderation, User List and More


#1

Hi there! I love this site, I’ve been using it for a while and it seems like the responses from moderators here are very personal and not cookiecutter (I have so much respect for that), so I’d love to suggest some things of my own to improve the site and get thoughts!

From my experience using the site, there isn’t much you can do with promotion to mods. I’m running a room where we do frequent watch-alongs and I’d like to promote some of my friends to staff in case I have to step out for a bit. They’d have access to things that I let them – for example, accessing videos, play/pause, moderating chat, etc.

Another suggestion I’d make is in saved rooms, seeing people who aren’t there anymore stay on the userlist is really annoying. I’d like to know who’s there currently and not have to ban everyone all the time, but even when I ban they still show up in the room number. I definitely suggest a fix for that as it can be misleading. Seeing anons stay on the user-list who only show up and leave is also a bit irking – I suggest a fix for this. I tried to ban but they still show up in the userlist.
Is there a way to purge the list? My room stays anonymous to everyone can participate, I don’t want to switch it to members only. It’s why I’m using Watch2Gether because of the anon feature.

It also seems like if the video is paused, it skips forward a little?
I’m not touching the player and it’s locked for moderation, but it keeps occasionally skipping like a minute ahead and then pausing again. It doesn’t skip while playing though, just when it’s paused.
UPDATE: It’s skipping when playing too. I just played a video and it skipped to the end.

It was also letting people play/pause and fast forward/rewind even though it’s locked for moderation.

Look forward to hearing from you!!


#2

Thanks a lot for your feedback! Initially Watch2Gether was created for smaller, interactive groups of friends that know and trust each other. Therefore there was not such a big focus on moderation, user roles and permissions. However, I understand that other group settings have other requirements and I’ll be adding more moderation features with the next releases. I just have to make sure that the service remains easy to use and understand.

Anonymous users are automatically deleteded 7 days after the user has been created. I understand that for busy rooms this might lead to a full user list. When you ban a user the entry of the user remains in the sidebar user list because you have to be able to unban a user as well. Note that only the owner of a room can see these banned users. I’ll think about a purge option that can be used to reset a user list.

Do you experience the skipping of the video as well when you are alone in a room?

Do you have the impression that the skipping happens in the moment when somebody joins the room?

Does the video only skip ahead in time or backwards as well?

I’m asking because occasional skips are normal and part of the background sync process.