How to use Watch2gether?


#1

How to use Watch2Gether

Watch2Gether is a social video website that allows you to watch videos and other content in-sync with others. In the following you learn how to use Watch2Gether and its features.

Creating a Room

You can create a room from the frontpage of Watch2Gether (https://www.watch2gether.com) by clicking on Create your Room

When the room opens you’ll be ask for a nickname. Pick one you like or stay with the default.

By default a Watch2Gether room is automatically deleted after 24 hours. If you want to keep your room, you have the option to save it. Before you can save rooms, you have to create a free Watch2Gether account. See: Your Watch2Gether Account

Inviting Friends

In a new room you are the only user who is present. Although you can use Watch2Gether just by yourself the fun begins when you invite some friends to watch with you. To do so, click on Invite Friends in the top right corner.

All rooms are private by default. The link to a room is nowhere published on Watch2Gether and there are no random users send to your room automatically. However, there are no limitation where you can share the link yourself.

Send the displayed link to one or more of your friends. You can use any possible way to send the link. Email, Facebook, WhatsApp, Skype, …

When your friend(s) have joined the room, they appear in the userlist on top of the chat area.

Selecting Videos

In a Watch2Gether room you can select and view videos from various supported platforms such as Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud and many others… Select a platform from the menu and search for a video using the search field.

The results of the search are displayed under the search field. By clicking on the thumbnail or the video title the video is loaded and shown in the video player in the top left of the site.

Now everyone in the room sees the same video. The video is shown in-sync which means that everyone sees the same moment of the video.

Using the Chat

While watching the video together, you can talk to your friends through the built-in chat, which is located right of the video. Simply type a message into the field at the bottom of the chat and hit enter.

Moderate your Room

By default all users in a Watch2Gether room have the right to search for videos and play them in the room. This works well in a room with a smaller number of users and is the way Watch2Gether is intended to be used. However, there are situations where you want to have more control over the content being played in your room.

By enabling Room Moderation, only the owner of a room has the right to select content. To do so, click on the Menu Icon in the top right corner of your room to open the Room Menu.

Scroll down in the menu to the Settings section and select Enable Moderation.

Your room is now moderated. To indicate that the room is moderated, a lock icon is displayed on top of the video player.

Using Playlists

Instead of playing a video directly, you can add it to a playlist. To do so, click on Add to Playlist at the bottom of a video in the search results. The video is then added to the currently selected playlist.

The current playlist can be selected left of the search area. In a new room there is only one playlist called Watch2Gether Default. You can add additional playlists in the Playlist Manager by clicking on the settings icon next to the name of the current playlist.

Your Watch2Gether Account

The core features of Watch2Gether can be used without an account. However, creating a free account has the following benefits:

  • You can save your rooms so that they are not deleted after 24 hours
  • You can pick a custom avatar image
  • You don’t have to select a nickname every time you enter a room
  • You get an overview of all rooms you participate in
  • You have the option to upgrade your account to a Watch2Gether +PLUS membership

Go here to create a free account: Sign Up


Is there any way you can mute webcams
#2